stairway to vegan

Sharing a journey into the world of fabulous vegan food.

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine……mmmm comfort food

Leave a comment

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

The weather here is still quite cool, especially for summer ūüė¶ So to cheer myself up, I headed to comfort food.

For me, either pasta or potato’s (or at times both, if I am in a real funk) always do the trick.

This week I put together a creamy, garlicy pasta. The roasted garlic and paprika give the dish a nice smokey flavour.  If you prefer to go soy free, you can substitute 1 cup white kidney beans for the tofu. This will not be quite so creamy, but still very delicious.

We are happily receiving wonderful CSA baskets each week. It is hard to believe we are already at week 7. I love receiving my email on Sunday night that lists what will be in the next baset. My fridge is always full of wonderful fresh produce. Thank you Ryan and Isabelle.

CSA Week Seven

CSA Week Seven

So, what to do with all these goodies? I usually do a stir¬†fry and a “Buddha¬†Bowl” (mixture of steamed veggies and brown rice with a little soy sauce). These are both great to do ahead in a big batch, then they are ready for quick suppers or to grab to take to work for lunch.

Cooper (the wonder dog), is always happy when I start cooking the veggies. He thinks he is vegan too. He just loves carrots and sweet potato and apple slices. He always gets four¬†slices of whatever I am cutting up. He knows he gets four, and if I try to shortchange him, he just gives me “the look”.

I have also started back into juicing again. I had gotten out of the habit, but now with all these greens, especially the beet tops,¬†I am re-motivated. So far, I do not usually have anything left over at the end of the week. If I don’t eat it, Cooper does ūüôā

This week I will also be making a Roasted Tomatillo¬†and Green Olive Salsa out of the lovely basket of Tomatillo’s you can see in the bottom right of the picture. I will post that recipe too¬†soon.

Enjoy

96B4F31D4DF30EE65A022CF611762965

 

 

 

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

 

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

Serves 4

  • 1 head of garlic left whole
  • Olive oil
  • ¬Ĺ package silken tofu
  • 2 Tblspns nutritional yeast
  • ¬Ĺ tspn paprika
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 cups Cooked pasta of choice

Pre-heat oven to 325. Cut the top off the head of garlic so that a little of each clove has been taken off. Drizzle with olive oil. Place garlic on baking sheet and bake for 30 mins.

Roasting Garlic

Roasting Garlic

Allow garlic to cool slightly. Gently squeeze the soft garlic cloves out and place in blender.

Add tofu, nutritional yeast and paprika. Blend until smooth and creamy. Add a little water if necessary to thin.

Toss with cooked pasta to serve.

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

Creamy Roasted Garlic Linguine

Nutrition   Facts

Serving Size 210 g

Amount   Per Serving

Calories    470

Calories from Fat 75

Total   Fat 8.4g

Saturated Fat 1.2g

Trans Fat 0.0g

Cholesterol   93mg

Sodium   37mg

Total   Carbohydrates 76.5g

Dietary Fiber 2.1g

Protein   21.7g

Nutrition   Grade B+

Nutritional Analysis

Good points

Please share your thoughts

