stairway to vegan

Sharing a journey into the world of fabulous vegan food.

Lets get spicy

Leave a comment

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup

Well, as I said in my first post, I am learning as I go. Over the weekend I found out all kinds of things I can do with the picutures I post. I have been playing with picture size, borders and captions. Please let me know what you think.

One of my weekend rituals is to make a big pot of soup or stew or some other “easy to transport to work so I dont eat out everyday” recipe. This weekend I made a double recipe of a favourite Thai soup that was originally inspired by a recipe in the Forks Over Knives cookbook, Spicy Thai Sweet Potato Stew. I love Thai food, with its complex flavours. This version is quite spicy, so you might want to tone down the jalapeno a little, perhaps remove the seeds, and maybe reduce the amount of spicy chilli sauce. I hope you like it as much as I do.

Enjoy,

Tracy

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup

Serves 4 to 6

2 Tblspn olive oil

2 large onions (peeled and chopped – I do this in my foodprocessor)

2 medium carrots (peeled and chopped – I do this in my foodprocessor)

4 cloves garlic (peeled and finly chopped or grated or see tip below)

2 medium jalepeno chiles (minced – or see tip below)

2 tspns fresh ginger (grated – or see tip below)

1/3 to 1/2 bottle of spicy (Thai) chilli sauce 200ml bottle

6 cups vegetable stock

2 medium sweet potato’s (peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch cubes)

4 medium white potato’s (peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch cubes)

2 limes (zested and juiced and set aside)

salt and ground pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in large pot. Add chopped onions and carrots, I like to put the onions in the food processor and using the S blade process until fine. Cook on medium heat until soft.

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup processed onions

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup processed onions

Tip: For the garlic, jalepeno chiles and ginger, I put them all into the small bowl of the food processor and process until finely minced. You can do this by hand too.

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup chile garlic and ginger

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup chile garlic and ginger

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup chiles garlic and ginger minced

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup chiles garlic and ginger minced

Add the minced chiles, garlic and ginger as well as spicy chilli sauce, mix well.
Add vegetable stock and potatoes, cover and cook on medium heat until potatoes are soft. approx 20 mins.

Add lime juice and half of the lime zest and salt and pepper. Remove up to 1/2 of the soup from the pot and blend. You can use a blender, hand blender or even “mash” with a potatoe masher) Be careful as the soup is very hot, you will need to let the steam escape if using blender and only fill blender to the half way point.

Return the blended soup back to the pot and stir.

Serve with extra lime zest sprinked on top.

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup

Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup

Please share your thoughts

